Trinity Mariners Logo

The Trinity Mariners' Lodge

No. 8406


Feb. 12th 1972 Initiation of the first candidate, Mr. C.M. Hughes.
Jun. 10th 1972First two joining members: W.Bro. A.C.V. Eales and Bro. J.H. Russell.
Jun. 13th 1972First death of a member: Bro. R.G. Terry Inner Guard and a Founder of the Lodge
Feb. 10th 1973First installation after the consecration - Bro. J.A. Edmondson, the Senior Warden, was installed as Master. Acting as installing Senior Warden was W.Bro. J. Bonomy PPrGStwd., Worshipful Master of Temple Lodge number 558, who, in 1992, was installed as Provincial Grand Master for the Province of East Kent. W.Bro. Friday PSGD. APGM. presented the Founders with their Founders’ jewels, which had not been ready at the time of the consecration. The subsequent dinner was held at the Burlington Hotel, the cost for the four-course dinner, coffee and service charge was £1.60, wine being charged to the Lodge on the amount drunk.
May 31st 1973 The Masonic Province of Kent was split and the Provinces of East Kent and West Kent were constituted. The first two brethren of the Lodge to be honoured with Provincial Grand Rank were invested - W.Bro. N.W. Stanley as ProvGStwd and W.Bro. C.R.R. Macauley as PPrSGD.
Dec. 8th 1973 Bro. W.C. Munn, Tyler of the Lodge since its consecration, became a member of the Lodge.
Apr. 12th 1975 The initiation of our longest serving member and a Past Master of the Lodge – Ray Robinson
Feb. 14th 1976 The custom of the outgoing IPM. serving a year as Tyler was instituted.
Apr. 12th 1980  W.Bro. W.E. Blewer, first Master of the Lodge, presented to the Lodge the banner which he had embroidered. It was dedicated by W.Bro. P.L. Baycock Pr.G.Chap. in the presence of W.Bro. F.H.C. Woollaston PSGD, APGM., attended by W.Bro. W.A. Wotton PAGDC. ProvGDC. 
Dec. 13th 1980  W.Bro. W.E. Blewer PPrAGDC. first Master of the Lodge initiated his son Mr. Frank Blewer into Freemasonry 
Feb. 14th 1981  Bro. M. Miles became the first initiate of the Lodge to be installed as Master 
Feb. 13th 1982  W.Bro. N.W. Stanley PPrSGD., who had acted as Secretary to the Petitioners and as Secretary of the Lodge since consecration, stood down from office. 
Feb. 11th 1984  W.Bro. P. James PPrJGD., director of ceremonies of the Lodge since the consecration, stood down from office. 
Apr. 12th 1986  Date of the installation meeting changed to April by amendment of the Bye-Laws. This came about as the result of adverse weather conditions, which had prevailed on a number of installation days, with a particularly severe conditions in 1985 which had prevented the attendance of a considerable number of brethren. It was accepted that this new date would, occasionally, coincide with the Easter weekend. 
Apr. 26th 1989  First member of the Lodge appointed to Grand Rank, W.Bro. J.A. Edmondson being invested as PGStdB. 
Apr. 28th 1990  W.Bro. N.W. Stanley PPrGReg., became the first Master in the Lodge to serve as Master of the Lodge. 
Apr. 11th 1992  W.Bro. W.E. Blewer PPrGSuptWks., became the first Master of the Lodge to serve a second term as Master.
Jun. 13th 1992  Due to urgent essential repair work at the Masonic Hall, Folkestone, the regular meeting was held at the Masonic Hall, Sandgate. 
Feb. 11th 1995  The Brethren marked the 50th anniversary of W.Bro. J.W. Walker’s initiation with a presentation to him. A celebration in the presence of the Provincial Grand Master R.W.Bro. J. Bonomy O.B.E. J.P. had previously been held in the Isle of Sheppey Lodge No. 6769 at Sheerness. 
Apr. 13th 1996  W.Bro. C.A. Rhodes PPrGSuptWks., a Founder, First Chaplain and Past Master of the Lodge, was installed as Master to preside over the Silver Jubilee year. 
Dec. 14th 1996  Subject to a successful ballot, the ceremony of initiation of Mr. C.T. Jones was performed by the surviving Founders of the Lodge, occupying their initial offices assisted by Past Masters of and in the Lodge. Celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Lodge. 

Top of Page